Eight architecture and planning professionals in Washington, Oregon and Alaska were named 2016 fellows by the American Institute of Architects (AIA) for contributions to architecture and society. A total of 149 fellows were chosen by the AIA and their honoring at the AIA convention in Philadelphia will take place in May.

Here’s a closer look at the work of our Pacific Northwest AIA fellowship winning talent.

Kirsten R. Murray of Olson Kundig in Seattle

Among her many notable projects, Murray led on the Art Stable, an urban infill project composed of adaptable live/work mixed-use units. Built on the site of a former horse stable, the units give each owner the opportunity to turn the space into whatever they want, be it a state-of-the-art home, studio or office space. Eleven-foot ceilings and walls of windows provide views of the glorious South Lake Union skyline. The Art Stable won the 2011 AIA Housing Award and was named residential architect magazine’s 2011 Project of the Year.

art-stable Art Stable, South Lake Union. Photo: Olson Kundig

Ron van der Veen of NAC Architecture in Seattle

Ron’s career has been dedicated to higher education, student housing and sustainable design. He is a frequent national lecturer on green design topics such as Biophilia and sustainable master planning, and has lead the design of more than a dozen LEED-certified buildings. For the Pilchuck Glass School Administrative Office he reused existing materials from the building to create an aesthetically pleasing design within the project’s extremely tight budget.

pilchuck-glass-school Pilchuck Glass School Administrative Office, Pioneer Square. Photo: NAC Architecture

Larry S. Cash of RIM Architects in Anchorage

While headquartered in Anchorage, Alaska, Larry has established RIM offices in San Francisco, Honolulu and Hagatna, Guam. His project The Hickel House was named after former Alaska Governor Walter J. Hickel and his wife, Ermalee. The three-story building provides a total of 43 guest units for those receiving outpatient care or visiting patients at the Providence Alaska Medical Center.

hickel-house The Hickel House. Photo: RIM Architects

Jay Raskin of Jay Raskin Architect in Oregon

Jay Raskin is a leader in emergency and pre-disaster mitigation planning. He was instrumental in the creation of Oregon Resilience Plan, a 50-year plan for Oregon to prepare for a Cascadia earthquake and tsunami. Raskin is also an expert in historic preservation and restoration. He helped restore the old fashioned Barbey Maritime Center in Astoria.

jay-raskin Photo: Jay Raskin Architect

Other 2016 AIA fellows from the Pacific Northwest include Duane L. Jonlin of Seattle Department of Planning and Development, Amy Miller Dowell of Amy Miller Dowell in Portland, Bradley Leathley of Flad Architects’ Seattle office. There are nearly 88,000 AIA members, but fewer than 3,200 are fellows and honorary fellows. Learn more about the 2016 fellows on the AIA website.

Developments featured in this article

More Like This

Facebook Chatter