The five-story landmarked building near Lispenard Street will be revamped by GreenbergFarrow and boast full-floor apartments, according a Department of Buildings permit filed September 3rd. The four-unit project will have 2,909 square feet of commercial space and 11,636 square feet of residential space.
The prewar building was snapped up by Vornado Realty Trust for $8.2 million at a 2011 foreclosure auction, Crain’s reported. The previous owner, Mymon Realty, purchased the property for $11 million in 2007 and attempted to sell it for $14.5 million in 2009. At the time of the auction, the outstanding amount on the defaulted mortgage was approximately $13.5 million.
Going even farther back in history, the structure was erected in 1881-1883 and designed by William E. Bloodgood, according to the Landmarks Preservation Commission, which OKed GreenbergFarrow’s plans.
The proposed work included enlarging the existing visible rooftop bulkhead and installing new metal doors, a new metal access stair with railing and a new window at the north facade.
Rendering: Vornado Realty Trust